Winnie-the-Pooh Day 2017

January 18 was Winnie-the-Pooh Day! Chris asked me, “what makes today Winnie-the-Pooh day?” and I had no idea. So obviously, I Googled it.

The author and creator of Winnie-the-Pooh, A.A. Milne was born January 18, 1882. So it makes sense that January 18 commemorates Milne and the Silly Ol’ Bear he introduced to the world through his stories. I have been a huge fan of Milne for many, many years and never knew about Winnie-the-Pooh day until this year.

We’ve all been under the weather this week (“tut! tut! it looks like rain!”) so I decided to skip the honey cakes and we just cuddled on the couch with our many Pooh Bear plush toys, and read all of the Winnie-the-Pooh books in our home library.
img_20170118_112954_555
In the afternoon, we watched the 2011 Disney film, Winnie the Pooh, which is one of my personal favorites.
img_20170118_111424

At the end of the day, I gave Emery a spoonful of honey (Sawyer isn’t so lucky as he isn’t a year old yet) and we sang the 100 Acre Wood song (aka the Winnie-the-Pooh theme).

I adored Pooh when I was growing up, and even collected all of the classic characters when I was a teenager. It makes my heart so happy to watch my kids playing with those little plush toys that sat in storage for so long, and to hear my 2-year-old’s sweet voice singing out, “Winnie a Pooh! Winnie a Pooh!”

“What day is it?”
“It’s today,” squeaked Piglet.
“My favorite day,” said Pooh.
– A.A. Milne, from “Winnie-the-Pooh” (1926)

Leave a Reply

