Rainbows

Last Thursday, I missed my husband’s great-grandmother’s funeral. Both of our kids were sick with fevers, and so I cancelled the babysitter and took the kids to our pediatrician. As I gripped the steering wheel and navigated my minivan through the torrential downpour, I prayed. I prayed that the kids would go to sleep (they didn’t). I prayed that God would keep us safe on the roads. I prayed that He would bring comfort to our family members who were mourning the loss of a matriarch. I prayed for guidance, as Granny’s death impacts our lives and our living situation. I thanked God for the rain, but prayed that it would ease up a bit so I could at least drive the speed limit.

As I prayed, I looked off to the left of the horizon. Through the downpour, I could see blue sky. It wasn’t overhead yet, but it was on its way. And I couldn’t help but think about how that relates to life. Lately it has felt like we’ve been caught in a storm without an umbrella. We can’t seem to get ahead financially, the kids are “always” sick, there’s uncertainty in our future… it can be very overwhelming. But storms do not last forever. The rain will ease up. The clouds will part. The sun will shine again.

On our way home from the doctor, we drove out of the rain. The sun was blinding, and a glorious rainbow stretched across the sky. “See the rainbow, Emery??” I called to my daughter behind me. “Isn’t it beautiful? Rainbows are a sign of God’s promises to us.”

My heart soared. It’s so easy to get stuck in the mud and surrender to the rain pounding us into the ground. I’m so thankful we have a God who lifts our chins, takes our hand and pulls us up out of the muck to stand with Him. I may not know what tomorrow, next week, or next month will bring. But as the old hymn says, “I know Who holds tomorrow, and I know Who holds my hand.”

Leave a Reply

